Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-29-2011, 01:16 PM   #1

what lens for dark rooms

I have a kr and a tamron 18-200 and it is not that great in dimly lit rooms can anyone suggest a lens that is good for dimly lit rooms as I am new to dslr cameras and am looking for a lens to photograph bands at our local live music pavillion.
Thanks in advance

05-29-2011, 01:19 PM   #2
Forum Member

Any lens with a large aperture will do fine.

Last edited by jellyfish26; 05-29-2011 at 02:56 PM.
05-29-2011, 01:51 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
The DAL 35mm f2,4 could do. It is about the right FL, not too expensive...
05-29-2011, 02:18 PM   #4
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you want to shoot in really dark rooms, your need a fast lens with large aperture (f 1.4 or faster), and manual focus.

The manual focus is the best technique in really dark-pitch black rooms. In turn you should look at MF lenses because these have a much nicer/precise focus ring than the AF lenses in general.

Hope that the comments will help.

Last edited by hcc; 05-29-2011 at 09:56 PM.
05-29-2011, 04:04 PM   #5
Veteran Member

To photograph bands, you will need somewhat longer lenses I suppose. DA 70 2.4 or FA 77 1.8 are good options.
05-29-2011, 09:02 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
What is your budget for this lens? Your options will be vastly different depending on the amount of money you can spend.

--DragonLord
05-30-2011, 12:00 AM   #7

Photos: Albums
I just recently bought a 50mm f1.4 FA lens. I was seriously considering a manual focus, but decided to go ahead an pay the extra because the camera is also used by my wife. She is a school teacher who generally would NEVER use the lens if it was only manual focus. Within one week of having the new lens she has mentioned that she is completely amazed at how well it works in really low light. (Part of that is the K-R at enhanced ISO... but she doesn't know that.)