Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-31-2011, 03:26 AM   #1

A big Dark

Hello everyone,
I am somewhat new to photography having had a brief encounter with a Pentax K10D.
I recently bought a Pentax Kr and took some photo's which appeared a tad on the dark side when taken in auto, was also the same when I took some pics of a half marathon.
Any ideas would be a great help, I am presuming it is my photo taking rather than a fault with the camera.

05-31-2011, 04:25 AM   #2
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by autotom45 Quote
Hello everyone,
I am somewhat new to photography having had a brief encounter with a Pentax K10D.
I recently bought a Pentax Kr and took some photo's which appeared a tad on the dark side when taken in auto, was also the same when I took some pics of a half marathon.
Any ideas would be a great help, I am presuming it is my photo taking rather than a fault with the camera.
Post some images with EXIF info intact so others can possibly see the problem.
05-31-2011, 06:36 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I have found that dark images are not much of a problem from the K-R, unless they are very dark. The K-R has a lot of dynamic range and images can be 'pushed' in PP to brighten up quite well. Have you tried to do this in your computer?
06-02-2011, 01:01 AM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks for the replies.

Attached is one of the photo's. By then the day was sunny, but this did not show on the photo.

Info:
1/250 F5.6 ISO 200

Attached Images

06-02-2011, 01:11 AM   #5
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
nope, that does not help - we need photo with full exif.
06-02-2011, 02:29 AM   #6
Site Supporter

Full EXIF will help.
Just looking at the histogram it is a bit cut off up high. That's easy to fix but the EXIF might indicate what caused it.
06-03-2011, 04:51 AM   #7

Original Poster
Thanks Bill

I don't mean to be a dummy, but what is the EXIF and where will I find it.

06-03-2011, 05:14 AM   #8