Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-04-2011, 07:29 PM   #1

New K-r - Display Screen Problem?? Need help - added pics

Hi all. This is my first post here. I am new to Pentax and DSLRs in general, this is my first one. I am sorry my post got so long but I couldn't think of any other way to explain it.

I just got my K-r and have been experimenting with pics in auto mode for now. I am having an issue though and I've gone through the entire operating manual and can't find anything on this.

In live mode, playback mode, and video mode (anything using the screen) the colors seem completely off for me. For instance, black will be a neonish blue at times (almost like when you do a negative image), and some other colors are way off on the display as well. This even happens when I'm switching picture modes, the example pictures for things like portrait, macro, etc. are way off. I found this odd, especially since the images on the computer come out fine from my memory card, they look normal and the colors are accurate and everything is fine.

After trying everything I could think of and reading the manual, I began searching K-r reviews. In some of these reviews, I noticed pictures of the displays on their K-rs and mine don't look anything like this in the menus. For instance, like in these pictures:
Pentax K-r Review - Product Images | PhotographyBLOG

If you go down to the one with the info screen, just to make it easy, my info screen looks completely different. It has all the icons, but there are no blue boxes around them at all. They are black. In fact most of the screen is black except the icons. I also have a white rim around the outside of the screen that almost fades as it goes from the edges. Also my four way controller, inside the little "arrows" on the screen, it is not blue, it is black.