Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-20-2011, 03:01 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Lenses for K-r

Hi all,

I'm new to Pentax and the digital versions of SLR. If looking for second hand lenses what mount should I be looking for. I appreciate that some may be manual only, that's no problem.

Hope you can help.

Rob

06-20-2011, 03:07 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Take a look here: https://www.pentaxforums.com/lensreviews/

Any K mount lens will work fine, to its original capabilities. The old screw mount m42 lenses you will need an adapter for, which is about $10 on ebay. They will of course be manual only.

Owning a Pentax comes with the bonus of always being on a treasure hunt. Thrift stores, yard sales, there are all kinds of places where you can turn up old glass that is perfectly good, for next to nothing.
06-20-2011, 03:36 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome aboard. You are embarking on an interesting path. The current mount is indeed the K mount (there are variants but they all will attach and work on your camera). One caution, there are Ricoh lenses with K mounts that have a pin sticking out that will jam in your camera. Avoid any Ricoh or 3rd party lenses with a pin sticking out until you know what to look for or can ask people (not me as this is still new to me) more knowledgeable if its a problem.