Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-20-2011, 05:37 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
What is Quick Shift Focus System?

I am a beginner in kr.

I am not quite understand what is Quick Shift Focus System. Do we ever need to use this in kr?

06-20-2011, 05:44 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Quick shift is a useful feature, especially when switching between video and still photography, because you do not have to physically switch your camera from AF to MF mode and back again if you want to shoot videos in between stills.

Just for still photography, it's also useful for quick adjustments that you want to make after AF has been locked, without the need to refocus again using the AF. This is handy particularly in low light situations, but also for macro work.
06-20-2011, 05:50 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by zhang8865 Quote
I am a beginner in kr.

I am not quite understand what is Quick Shift Focus System. Do we ever need to use this in kr?
With quick-shift the focus ring always turns freely to manual focus. Without quick shift you must use a physical switch to move between autofocus to manual focus.
06-20-2011, 10:32 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Original Poster
How should I set this in my kr? Is the lens' magical automatic quickshift system know when i want to switch to manual focus?

06-21-2011, 12:04 AM   #5
Site Supporter

How should I set this in my kr? Is the lens' magical automatic quickshift system know when i want to switch to manual focus?
What lenses do you have?
Quickshift is only supported by some lenses. if you have a DA-L kit lens then it isn't supported. It is supported on the the same DA lenses and some others.
Use the switch on the front left of the lens mount to switch from auto to manual focus - manual only, no quickshift.
06-21-2011, 12:33 AM   #6
Site Supporter

Original Poster