Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-26-2011, 09:44 AM   #1

K-r for timelapse photography

I made some timelapses with the beautiful intervalometer function found in the K-r, but they are not that good as I expected. First of all, the movies have that flickering appearance, and I don't know why, since I used manual, fixed parameters. The video below was made from stills taken at a interval of one second, manual mode, iso 100, f9, 1/500s, manual WB...so nothing supposed to change. However, there are major differences from still to still, one has warm colors, another much colder colors, and so on.
Second, it appears that the shutter realease moves the camera a bit, but that could be resolved at least some, I think, with a heavier tripod.
Maybe some of you could help me on these, since I am new to DSLR photography and maybe it is something wrong with what I am doing.

here is another one

especially in the second one, it is clearly that the iso remains unchanged, so as the f number, i think the shutter speed also, because the video is getting darker at the end, as the sun sets. But the white balance is certainly not right...or maybe is something related to the focus but I don't think...the focus was set to manual also.
Thank you in advance!

06-26-2011, 02:42 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't know, but its interesting - so I went searching...

I found this very interesting...... something mechanical that is somewhat unique to a dSLR. Probably not a white balance problem totally. Shutter and/or aperture, or something on auto?

Then, here are some analysis and solutions...
hope that helps....
06-26-2011, 08:39 PM   #3
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
One second fills the buffer, then a missed photo or two while buffer empties. Maybe 3 seconds would allow buffer to empty and smoother sequence AWB will have fits will moving clouds.
06-26-2011, 09:34 PM   #4
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi,