Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-15-2011, 12:50 PM   #1

Clunks, rattles, grinds and bumps in the night

Hi all,

Firstly, I'd like to introduce myself, as this is my first posting. I have been photographing professionally for over 30 years. I built my first darkroom when I was about 10, and have also worked in the industry (ran a pro lab and a one-hour lab). I've gone through a lot of camera equipment of many brands over the years, (Rollei, Hasselblad, Konica, Canon, Nikon, and now Pentax). I am only stating this so you know I'm not a complete neophyte.

I recently decided to buy a K-r, my first Pentax, as a lightweight DSLR travel camera. I went for this camera because it is jam-packed with features, got very good reviews, especially for high ISO, and is very economically priced, and I took a long time to select it among the models and brands out there. I don't plan to expand the system much beyond the kit lens and a AF telephoto zoom lens or so, and I plan to keep costs down by buying a couple of used middle of the road lens (any suggestions appreciated). This is my step up from my superzoom point and shoot. (I also use a larger Nikon DSLR, which is well equipped with accessories and lenses).

Anyway, this post is about the K-r body. Before writing this I did scour the web and Pentax Forums and noticed several discussions about the clunky noises and internal movements of the magnetic sensor platform, and also read the replies, which all indicate it is "normal".