Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-08-2011, 01:35 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Bokeh effect

I have been taking pictures with my new K-r(18-55 kit lens) and noticed that when the aperture is wide open at 3.5 I do not get background blur effect but at times even when its f/5.6 or 6.3 I get nice blurry background.

Isn't the bokeh effect supposed to be more at large aperture ? Could anyone explain me what am I doing wrong ? I am new to DSLR photography and trying to get the best out of kit lens

08-08-2011, 01:41 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

The background needs to be suitably distant to blur. Move your subject further from the back ground and the background will dissolve.

check out some of the photos in the kit lens club thread - some real inspiration there.

oh, & Have fun!!

heh, read Fries post below and realized that mine + his gives the full explaination.. this LINK is useful for understanding DoF (Depth of Field)

Last edited by mattt; 08-08-2011 at 01:49 PM. Reason: Added link
08-08-2011, 01:47 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I am not very good in explaining this sort of things but it has to do with the distance to your subject. Get closer and you will find it easier isolating it from its surroundings and produce bokeh... You will have less in focus and you have to pay extra attention to that!
08-08-2011, 01:57 PM   #4

Original Poster
oh, I get it..so I have to move closer to the subject but at the same time the subject has be at a suitable distance from the background to produce the effect.

Thanks Mattt n Fries

08-08-2011, 02:55 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by lovejoy Quote
I have been taking pictures with my new K-r(18-55 kit lens) and noticed that when the aperture is wide open at 3.5 I do not get background blur effect but at times even when its f/5.6 or 6.3 I get nice blurry background.