Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-08-2011, 09:49 PM   #16

Isn't the native ISO for the K-x/r 200? And reducing it to 100 also reduces the dynamic range? Or something...

08-08-2011, 10:04 PM   #17
Veteran Member

Normally keep it at 200 on my K-X but will go to where it needs to be for speed and aperture.Being used to manual cameras I tend to not use a lot of the aut functions on the camera but will try the auto iso settings to see how things come out.Still trying to figure out why some shots at 3200-6400 come out good or acceptable while others at 800-1600 are terrible.Normally I am fascinated by how well the K-X does at higher iso.My Panasonic FZ that I have been using since 2004 didn't do too well at 400.
Jake
08-08-2011, 10:23 PM   #18

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by crf529 Quote
Isn't the native ISO for the K-x/r 200? And reducing it to 100 also reduces the dynamic range? Or something...
Correctly said. Expanding ISO to 100 will reduce the DR. Lowest ISO in K-r and K-x is 200 whereas ISO 12800 is totally not usable.
Try taking few sample shots to set high ISO limit
08-08-2011, 10:39 PM   #19
Veteran Member

Actually ISO100 on the K-x gives more DR than ISO200. Just like ISO80 is what gives the max DR for the K-5. Check the DXO charts, it's there for all to see, no need to wonder or guess at all.

The common wisdom that you get more noise and less DR at the low expanded ISO setting is no longer true, whether it was once true I don't know, but for all the recent Pentax DSLRs the lower the ISO, the more DR and the less noise.

08-08-2011, 10:59 PM   #20

Cheers for that. I've had my lower limit fixed at 200 on the K-r because I read a few threads on here that concluded 200 was superior due to its greater DR. Good to know!
08-08-2011, 11:18 PM   #21