Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
09-12-2011, 11:16 PM - 2 Likes   #1

Photos: Albums
Reminisce on my favourite camera

Not very good with words, but here's what i think of the K-r and Pentax.

I was a noob when i bought my very first DSLR (K-r) on Feb 2011.
I have a used K1000 tho, thus my username. Haha

Was actually very indecisive between a D3100 and K-r. Checked with a few shops regarding the prices of both cameras and boy i was shocked.
The D3100 was actually cheaper than the K-r. I almost "jump-ship" to Nikon.
But thinking about the old lenses that i had with my K1000, it would be such a waste to "restart" buying new expensive N lenses.
I was a student then. So i decided to go along with Pentax!

After i bought the K-r, friends/colleagues saw the camera and goes "Wow, why did you not buy C/N brands? Pentax? What is that?" you know, that kinda thing.
Luckily it didn't bring me down as i saw on this very forum, the amount of lenses available for my K-r and the cheap lenses that i could afford (compared to some brands)

So i started lending my K-r to friends/colleagues for them to try. Some were, i would say, not very friendly. Nit picking on pentax.
(This K-r had the e-dial issue, but was resolved within a few weeks)
There were of course some who were amazed by how the K-r works under natural sunlight.
As for artificial lightings, i think K-r handled rather well.
I myself was amazed. Not sure if anyone has encountered this, but some of my photos that were taken after the sun has set. The image that i got on my K-r was like the surrounding is still very bright. (Will post pictures later on)

Many a times there would be compliments about what a great little camera it has been.
After slighty more than 7 months of usage, I am still using it and my friends are still borrowing from me. Has never regretted getting a K-r.

I am proud of my K-r, and most importantly proud to be part of the Pentax family!