Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-16-2011, 06:44 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Complete novice ?

Hi guys,

As mentioned in my intro my daughter has bought a K-R twin lens kit (18-55mm & 50-200mm), the main use of the camera will be taking pictures of the little ones (16months & 4months).

Now, my daughter had not even held an SLR until yesterday, the camera should be dilivered today, so the term "Complete novice" is well placed here LOL!!.

My question is........is there a few simple "Do's" to get her started?
I put it that way because I find at work it is useful to give people on training a few pointers, from there they find their way round and, in this case build from there..........hope that makes sense.

Any help would be appreciated.

slab288

09-16-2011, 06:57 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I would put the camera into P mode until you are familiar with the settings.
09-16-2011, 07:22 AM   #3

Tell her to read the manual carefully. There's a lot of good stuff there. Yes it's a long manual (300+ pages) so it takes some time. But a few pages a day, and after a while you finish it. If she starts to want to improve the quality of her pictures more, taking a few classes on the subject is a nice idea as well. A few days learning some of the basics really helps you extract what the camera can provide you with. It's up to her now how far she wants to follow this rabbit hole now
Oh yeah, tell her to sign up for this forum. There's lots of good info here and very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable folks.
09-16-2011, 08:06 AM   #4

P mode and auto iso (until 1600 or 3200) is the easiest way to go.
The next step could be the A mode (still with auto iso)

09-16-2011, 08:18 AM   #5
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by slab288 Quote
16months & 4months