Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-26-2011, 11:32 AM   #1

Blurring the background in portraits

Hi I'm Victoria,
I'm really new to all this I just brought a Pentax k-r and I have been taking some lovely shots but not as great as they could be.
How do you take a pic of someone and make the background blurred? I do it some times but I don't know how I've done it.

10-26-2011, 11:39 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I've updated your thread title so that you get more replies

Basically all you need to do is set your camera to Av mode and use a low aperture number, such as F1.4, F2, F2.8 or F3.5. It also helps to be physically closer to the subject when taking the photo.

If you only have the kit lens, you should consider a 50mm F1.4 or a 35mm F2.4 if for portrait/DOF shots.
Pentax 35mm DA L F2.4 AL Lens 21987 B&H Photo Video
Pentax Normal SMCP-FA 50mm f/1.4 Autofocus Lens 20817 B&H Photo

Also check out this article: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/photography-articles/62522-exposure-shutt...rture-iso.html

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

10-26-2011, 11:50 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Welcome

QuoteOriginally posted by eye shots Quote
Hi I'm Victoria,
I'm really new to all this I just brought a Pentax k-r and I have been taking some lovely shots but not as great as they could be.
How do you take a pic of someone and make the background blurred? I do it some times but I don't know how I've done it.