Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-03-2011, 09:05 AM   #1

Newbie to DSLR..What to Buy?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I am a teacher and have been told I will teach a digital photography class next year. I know NOTHING about it so I will be taking a class in the spring and probably more in the summer. I have been given the following items and told they have about $500 for me to spend on additional items...

They have already ordered the following:
http://www.amazon.com/Pentax-18-55mm-50-200mm-Black-Accessory/dp/B0061C0MA4/...332959&sr=1-25

This stuff has been shipped, but I haven't put my hands on it....

It includes
1- Pentax K-R 12.4 MP Digital SLR Camera with 3.0-Inch LCD and 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 and 50-200mm f/4-5.6 Lenses
1- DLI109 Lithium Ion Replacement Rechargeable Battery (Not Original Pentax)
1- 3 Piece Filter Kit Includes: UV, Circular Polarizer and Flourescent Filter and Hard Case
1- 16GB SDHC Secure Digital Memory Card (Memories are Priceless!)
1- 0.45x Wide Angle Lens w/ Pouch and Caps (Capture That View!)
1- 2x Telephoto Lens W/ Pouch and Caps (More Zoom is better!)
1- Full Size 59" Tripod W/Carry Bag (Keep it Steady!)
1- External Digital Slave Flash (Brighten Up Your Memories!)
1- Multi 50 in 1 USB Card Reader(Download your images to your computer quickly!)
1- Padded Carrying Case (Protect your Investment!)
1- Memory Card Wallet (Keep your Memory Cards Organized!)
1- Mini Table Top Tripod
1- Pack of LCD Screen Protectors (Protect your LCD!)
1- Lens/LCD Maintenance Cleaning Kit

I must spend the money soon (before I even know anything about this...you got to love school administrators)...

So...what would you recommend I buy with that $500?

11-03-2011, 09:38 AM   #2
Veteran Member