Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-19-2011, 05:24 PM   #1
Site Supporter

How Much Tripod Do I Need?

I've been obsessively searching for weeks trying to find a tripod for my Kr. I've probably looked at a hundred different tripods (and some monopods too) and am still no closer to finding one.

I've read a lot of the tripod reviews on this site (and others) and they've been very helpful in teaching me about the tripods, but have still not gotten me any closer to narrowing one down.

I'm not a professional photographer (and don't aspire to be one) so I don't want to spend more than 150 on a tripod (I'd actually like to spend less than 100). I just need something that will keep my camera steady and that won't fall over if I leave it on it's own for a few seconds. I do understand that there is no "holy grail of under $100 tripods" out there.

Here's the heaviest equipment I've got:

Pentax Kr (weight is a little over a pound according to Amazon)
Pentax DA 55-300 (About a pound according to Amazon)
Metz 50 Flash (Also a pound in weight)

Any other accessories I may add (don't know what else) would probably keep the weight of the camera to less than 5 pounds, so how much tripod do I need? Do I need one that supports 15 pounds? 25 pounds? I know the more weight it supports the better, but there's got to be a limit for the casual photographer.

I would really appreciate any help anyone can offer. I'd love to put an end to this compulsive researching I've been doing so that I can move on to my next compulsive researching task. Here's some tripods I've been looking at:

Amazon.com: SLIK PRO 700DX Professional Tripod with Panhead (615-315): Camera & Photo

Amazon.com: Dolica GX600B200 Proline GX Series 60-Inch Aluminum Tripod and Ball Head Combo for DSLR: Camera & Photo

Amazon.com: Ravelli APGL4 New Professional Tripod with Adjustable Pistol Grip Head and Heavy Duty Carry Bag: Camera & Photo