Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-02-2011, 02:55 PM   #1

Front-focusing issue a problem for a newbie?

Hello everyone! Besides having a couple of point-and-shoot cameras, I am completely new to DSLR's and photography. After having my son I realized that I will need a much better camera to take nice pictures of him (He is WAY too fast for my POS, and he can't even crawl yet). My POS is terrible and turns everything orange or blurry - and there is no true manual mode. Anyway, back on track... after many weeks of research, I am almost positive that the K-R is the camera for me - it is fast and has everything and more I am looking for in a camera... BUT, I will be taking a lot of indoor pictures and am concerned about the issue with front-focusing in artificial lighting. Will this be a problem for a complete novice like me? Will I even notice it? If so, it will be a deal-breaker and will be back to square one. I don't plan on becoming a professional photographer and have a TON to learn, so I don't know if this is something that I should even be worried about. Please tell me any information you have!!

Also, from lurking around on your site, I noticed that the K-R is (may be) discontinued. I don't think this is too big of an issue, but don't want to purchase the camera only to have it come down in price shortly after and miss out on a possibly "superior" entry-level camera that they come out with. Should I hold off on buying? Pull the trigger and just buy the darn thing? Or keep searching for that "perfect" camera?

I am not sure if I am leaving anything out, so please let me know if I am. Other cameras I have considered: Nikon D3100 (is a bit slower than I would like, and future lenses will be more expensive than Pentax from what I understand), and Canon (those in my price range seem a bit chintzy). I haven't really looked much into Sony, Panasonic, or Olympus.

Thanks in advance!

12-02-2011, 04:28 PM   #2