Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-09-2011, 02:00 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Changeable focus screen on K-r?

I am considering moving to K-r from K100D, and need to know definitively whether one can replace the focusing screen to improve manual focusing, as I replaced it on the K100D and would like to re-use it. The camera comparison screen here on the forum says no. Thanks in advance

12-09-2011, 02:10 PM   #2
Veteran Member

You can't reuse it, but you can indeed replace the K-r screen. Perhaps you can sell the one from your K100D to recoup some of the cost.
12-09-2011, 02:13 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Thanks- good to know!
12-09-2011, 02:23 PM   #4
Veteran Member

WOW! so there's a way to improve the screen? are we talking about a much better view on the viewfinder here? cause I'm a newbie and I just got my k-r 2 weeks ago, I think the k-r's viewfinder does not satisfy my needs when it comes to focusing with my manual lens.

12-09-2011, 02:40 PM   #5
MJL
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Screens for Kr

QuoteOriginally posted by kaiserz Quote
WOW! so there's a way to improve the screen? are we talking about a much better view on the viewfinder here? cause I'm a newbie and I just got my k-r 2 weeks ago, I think the k-r's viewfinder does not satisfy my needs when it comes to focusing with my manual lens.

I have both KatzEye & the K3 (Nikon) screen from focusingscreen.com for my Kr. They do improve MF accuracy slightly but I am not sure it worth the cost, especially on the $100+ KatzEye.
12-09-2011, 02:47 PM   #6
Veteran Member

I might just get a second hand k20d if it's gonna be that much for that upgrade.
12-09-2011, 06:39 PM   #7
Veteran Member

hman what focusing screen did you use on your old k100d? and what are you planing to use on the k-r?

12-10-2011, 07:29 AM   #8
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster