Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-22-2011, 05:59 AM   #1
Forum Member

old lens new body

Newbie here. Looking to go with a Kr once the holidays have passed. Have an Mx now, but has sat unused for about 20 years. Would like to get a Kr body and use the manual lenses with it. What problems or drawbacks are there to this arrangement? Will if function just like my Mx did or will there be some oddities in operation and settings?

This will be my first dslr.

12-22-2011, 06:01 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Here's how you use manual lenses:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-lens-articles/110657-how-use-meter...k-x-k-7-a.html

Generally the process is hassle-free, you just have to stop-down first to meter.

BTW with the k-r now discontinued, you might have trouble finding one after the holidays!
12-22-2011, 06:15 AM   #3

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by pichur Quote
Would like to get a Kr body and use the manual lenses with it.
Depends on your definition of the word "Manual." If you mean Manual Focus but the lens has an "A" setting (like a Pentax-A SMC 50 f/2.0 for example) then everything works the same as a modern lens without the autofocus.

If you mean Manual Aperture then you would have to do stop down metering as Adam suggested. Simply a matter of pressing the green button to get exposure settings prior to firing the shutter.

I have a number of "manual" lenses (including A, non A versions and M42). They are a joy to use.

AB
12-22-2011, 08:43 AM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
Kr discontinued? Did not know this. What will replace it?

As for manual operation the camera has a light meter in it that can be used much like that of a manual film camera?