Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-25-2012, 03:03 AM   #1

Flash problem, red underexposed picture

Hi there,

I am new with DSLR and happy owner of a Pentax K-r.
However I experience an issue using the build-in flash, I did a lot of tests and cannot get the flash to work properly

Every single picture I take with flash is way underexposed even though flash seems to work
So I tryed to use manual exposure mode:
With 1/10 exposure time, F8, iso 3200, +-0EV, Auto white balance
I took one picture without flash=> picture looks fine
Tryed picture with flash using exact same settings=> picture appears very red but not overexposed (I thought with flash using these settings on close object I should get a picture way overexposed)
I tryed the same test setting white balance for flash and get exactly the same picture

I also tryed taking a picture in front of a mirror using the flash to see if it would show on the picture, same problem picture looks red (walls red instead of white) but no sign of flash on the picture
I don't understand because I can clearly see the flash flashing while taking the picture and it seems powerfull enough.

I tryed to reset camera settings to default, upgrade to latest firmware and still get same results.

Could you help me understand the problem,
Am I doing anything wrong?

Thanks.

01-25-2012, 04:41 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Strange. It sounds almost like the flash is firing a bit too early. Can you get a local camera shop to look at it, and help you diagnose it?

You'll probably have to either exchange it or get it repaired by Pentax, depending how long you've had it and where you bought it from. It's not a common problem with the K-r, I can say that much.

Oh, and welcome to the forum. Sorry it's under such circumstances.
01-25-2012, 05:23 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by zinzin Quote