Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
02-01-2012, 06:18 AM   #1

Raynox macro lenses

As an avid gardener and recent K-r owner, I would like to do some macro photography this spring. Typical insect, flower, leaf kind of stuff. I'm wondering if anyone can share any experiences with the Raynox DCR-150 and DCR-250 on the following lenses:

Kit DA-L 18-55mm
Kit DA-L 55-300mm
Pentax M 50mm f2

Just wondering if I can expect decent results with these lenses and either of the Raynox. Also, I'm not sure I'm going to be able to afford both the 150 and the 250 without being thrown in the doghouse by the wife (and I can't really say I'd blame her), so I'm having trouble deciding which one to choose. I know the 250 is more powerful, but maybe even more fussy in terms of DOF and other considerations? Of course I'd like to get as close to the subject as possible. Any advice is appreciated. I'm new to macro photography, so go easy on me.

02-01-2012, 06:26 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I have the Raynox 250 and used it with the 18-55, it vignettes on the wide end, gone at around 26mm (just past the 24 marker).
I also tried to use it on my Tamron 70-300 and let me say at 300mm its really hard to use hand held, I would imagine a similar situation with your 55-300... I would say the optimum focal length to use it is at 100mm
02-01-2012, 06:54 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Of the 3 lenses you mentioned, the 55-300 offers better IQ than the 18-55, and variable macro magnification compared to the 50. I suggest building your Raynox solution around the 55-300.

The Raynox 150 is a good match with 55-300. Maximum magnification can exceed 2:1. The 250 can go even higher but isn't practical for handheld use.
02-01-2012, 07:10 AM   #4
Veteran Member