Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-27-2012, 03:02 PM   #1

Bulb in Sky/stars photography (Pentax K-r)

Well,
this is my first attempt of photographing stars/sky ... set the k-r in Manual mode and scrolled to BULB...

this photo is taken with 214s exposure / f8 / iso100
I started and stopped the exposure (using the IR-remote) and after that i had to wait nothing less than the exposure time (214 seconds) [viewing through the viewfinder i saw numbers decrement starting from 214 to zero ; and the seconds mark ( " ) ].... in other words i was unable to interact with the camera.... is this normal for the K-r? Is that the time needed to clear the buffer?
Tnx in advance,
Aleksandar

03-27-2012, 03:22 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
That is the noise reduction in action
03-27-2012, 05:58 PM   #3

That's the long-exposure noise reduction as jezza323 said. To turn it off, go to Menu> camera icon> 2 > Slow Shutter Speed NR> Off. Hope it helps!
03-28-2012, 01:12 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sounds like dark frame subtraction. After a long exposure, the camera will take a second shot with the shutter closed (same duration) so it can remove 'hot' pixels.

Not sure if it really can be switched off on a K-r.

Last edited by sterretje; 03-28-2012 at 01:32 AM.
03-28-2012, 02:22 AM   #5
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by alexmkd Quote
Well,
this is my first attempt of photographing stars/sky ... set the k-r in Manual mode and scrolled to BULB...

this photo is taken with 214s exposure / f8 / iso100
I started and stopped the exposure (using the IR-remote) and after that i had to wait nothing less than the exposure time (214 seconds) [viewing through the viewfinder i saw numbers decrement starting from 214 to zero ; and the seconds mark ( " ) ].... in other words i was unable to interact with the camera.... is this normal for the K-r? Is that the time needed to clear the buffer?
Tnx in advance,