Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-03-2012, 10:00 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Viv flash won't sync at 180th, shoe goes cold above 160th [Solved]

OK, so I'm stumped, and my Google-fu fails me. I recently picked up a Vivitar Macroflash 5000 from a forum member here, and it works fine up to and including 1/160th second. Switching to 1/2 step EV, hotshoe goes cold at 1/180th, which is supposedly the K-r's X-sync speed.

I'm a flash noob, and finding learning about them very slow as I don't have a modern one to check out. I understand this old one will be manual only, full strength only, but why wouldn't it sync at 1/180th? I need every bit of speed I can get when shooting light coloured subjects to avoid blowing highlights.

Oh, further detail, just in case. It's using a Hama hotshoe to PC adapter, with a sync cable running to the flash. I just mention it because it's third party.

Last edited by Philoslothical; 04-05-2012 at 03:17 PM.
04-04-2012, 11:21 AM   #2

Shutter Speed

Not quite- the max shutter speed for sync is in fact 1/160 documented in a few places and verified by your truly. At that point or slower your Viv will work just fine.
04-04-2012, 11:39 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks for responding. Could you show me a source on that? I just checked the Pentax site, DPR's review, and the K-r reviews on the forums here, and they all say 1/180th second is the sync speed.

PENTAX - K-r Black

Pentax K-r - Digital SLRs - Pentax Camera Database and Reviews

Pentax K-r Review: Digital Photography Review
04-04-2012, 04:45 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Not a noted expert on this but I have a couple of yn-560's and they both operate at 1/180th?

regards, Frank

04-04-2012, 08:09 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster