Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-11-2012, 03:47 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Lens advice

Hello,

I am new to photography and I am looking to upgrade my kit a bit and work with different lens. currently I am using a Kr with the standard 18-55 lens and the 70-300
I've completely confused myself in reading too much information on all different type of lenses so I need someone to give me their recommendations which to buy next, eventually I do want to work my way up to try out all styles of photography I have only really done flowers and landscape so far.

also Is there a lens out there that's a wide angle AND a zoom?

Thank you

05-11-2012, 05:14 AM   #2
Forum Member

For a real wide zoom there's Sigma 8-16, Sigma 10-20, Pentax 10-17, Tamron 10-24, then you're up to 12-24 offered by Pentax and Sigma. A consideration is if you will stay with an APS-C (crop) sensor or eventually upgrade to a full frame sensor. That's forward thinking when buying lenses .... look at the compatibility ... APS only or both. Also if you will stay with Pentax or try something else.
05-11-2012, 05:49 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's hard to advise since we don't know what focal length you are interested in. However, since you have most of the focal range covered with your zooms, maybe you'd like to move into some prime lenses?

A cheap and really excellent quality prime that many people start with is the DA 35/2.4. It's reasonably fast and very sharp! I've never read a bad word about it, an excellent value.

If you want something wider, the DA 15 Limited is hard to beat. Very small and lightweight and just a beautiful performer.

There are lots of inexpensive used 50mm/1.7 lenses available for your camera if you want to get into faster lenses. You have so many choices, I can see why you'd be confused!! Check the Forum Marketplace a lot - there's always some really great deals available there.