Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
08-21-2012, 02:33 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Tomb of the Unknown Soldier - Time Lapse

This was before I had my ND filter.

I hope to get some better videos done up soon now that I do.

10-23-2012, 12:08 PM   #2

Very cool!

I'm new to time lapse so could you go into detail on how you did this with the k-r?
10-23-2012, 09:21 PM - 2 Likes   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You can get a series of shots like that by using the interval timer, page 151 of the manual or just look in the [Rec. Mode 2] menu, then [Interval Shooting]. You enter the interval between shots first. The exposure time doesn't "count" - that is, if your exposure is 15 sec. and your interval is 45 sec., your second shot will start at 1 minute, third shot will start at 2 minutes, etc. It'll look like this:
[Start time]
[Shot 1, 15 sec.]
[Interval 1, 45 sec.]
[Shot 2, taken at start time + 1 min., 15 sec. exposure]
[Interval 2, 45 sec.]
etc.

You can set the number of shots up to 999. You can start immediately or choose a particular time to start shooting. The camera clock is used for the start time so make sure it's on the right time zone.

Some obvious disclaimers are in the manual, like there has to be space on the memory card. Less obvious: the camera will use single frame shooting even if it's set to something else. You can hit the power switch, switch modes or press a button on the back of the camera to cancel shooting. The camera keeps shooting even if Auto Power Off is selected. You'll need enough battery power or the AC adapter.