Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-26-2012, 07:10 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Just got my K-r

Hello! I am a new member who just received her first EVER DSLR—I bought a new K-r from an EBay photo store. Now it's time to go try it out and grow into it. I'm sure it will be a whole new world for me; I have been shooting with Sony cybershots up 'til now. There is a special place in my heart for those compacts, but I outgrew them and CAN'T WAIT to get started with DSLR quality. (I studied specs online for a month prior to the purchase, wanted a k-5 but had to go with affordability. Plus I have a collection of manual k-mount SLR lenses that are fully manual, no electronics, no Ricoh pin ... should be an adventure!)

09-26-2012, 07:31 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome Aboard! You have a nice camera, what lens did you get?
09-26-2012, 07:53 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Welcome! I have a K-r and used it for 1 1/2 years before upgrading to a K-30. I LOVE my K-r. It was a joy to learn photography with and I bet you'll have a blast with it!
09-26-2012, 07:56 AM   #4
Site Supporter

Welcome!

If you are new to the world of interchangeable lenses and moving from a compact to a dslr, sometimes the photos will not come out 'that much better' initially or sometimes it maybe even worse for a while till you get the hang of it.

Rent this book from the library.
Understanding Exposure,3rd Edition: How to Shoot Great Photographs with Any Camera: Bryan Peterson: 9780817439392: Amazon.com: Books

It certainly helped me when I made the move.

09-26-2012, 08:12 AM - 1 Like   #5
Veteran Member

I just sold mine here on the forum. It really is a great camera, especially in the lower iso's. Congrats and post some images!
09-26-2012, 09:07 AM   #6
Site Supporter

Bonjour,

I found my K-r to be an excellent image making tool. My wife claimed it, thus I moved on to a K-7, then K-5.