Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-10-2012, 07:43 AM   #1

Using Manual instead of Autofocus

Hi everyone,
I am still learning how to use my new Pentax K-r and I have been trying to use the Manual instead of autofocus.
With poor results !
If you could please share some tips on how to achieve good results with Manual , I would appreciate !
Thank you,
Masaryk

10-10-2012, 08:13 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
What lens are you trying it with? Manual focusing can be tricky as the aperture becomes larger. The default focusing screen isn't precise enough for this. I changed my screen to a Canon Type S and it helped a lot. Not to the degree that it was a piece of a cake thing, but much much easier than with the stock screen.

That's the best tip I can give you - some lenses are easier than others as well - depends on how much the focusing ring travels, how much friction there is etc.

http://www.focusingscreen.com/
10-10-2012, 08:53 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Have you adjusted your diopter setting (page 58 in the manual)?

Tim
10-10-2012, 04:03 PM   #4

Photos: Albums
I struggled with AF for over a year using the stock screen especially with my 50mm 1.7. However once I installed the Canon S screen the difference was night and day. I made a video of it https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-k-r/178682-s-type-screen-focusings...on-review.html. In hindsight I would have shot the video much differently and changed my approach but it more or less accomplishes what I was trying to do.

10-10-2012, 08:40 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Another thought. Do you watch for your focus confirmation in the viewfinder? I use that when I am in doubt. I don't have a k-r, just a DL and have not found a focus screen for it to help with MF.
11-15-2012, 10:31 AM   #6