Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-25-2012, 10:42 PM   #16
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I have an SMC F/2.0 kit lens that came with my good ol' ME Super purchased some 25 years ago. While it's not as nice as the faster 50s, I have been pleased with it's performance on my k-r. As others have noted, it's a challenge to focus wide open but at . I've used it taking pictures of my daughter's sporting events and was pleased with the results. It's reasonably fast compared to the kit lenses in a darkened gym, but admittedly, it's not a zoom so getting close the the action is a challenge. But I'm a relative newbie to DSLR. I just think it's cool that I can use my old lenses with the k-r. I also have an SMC M 80/200mm F4.5 and SMC A 35-70 F4. Neither are top of the line lenses, but work fine in my k-r. It was a bit frustrating at first to get the right exposure, but I had a real "A-HA!" moment when I learned about the green button on this forum. My A 35-70 also does quite well with the advantage of the A setting which allows you to adjust aperture settings by the camera vs manually adjusting the aperture ring. Be patient and you can find a good quality copy for not much cash.

10-26-2012, 07:06 AM   #17
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Tonyr99: I acquired the A35-70/4 back in May, and that lens was glued to the camera for much of the summer! I really like the saturated colors, sharpness, and rendering of this lens. Yeah, it's a bit slow at f/4, but in good light it's a stellar performer imo. Be sure to try out its close-up mode - sharp even wide-open with nice bokeh. It did very well with a lot of flower shots I took with it. Be sure to use a hood (but maybe you knew that) !
10-26-2012, 11:12 PM   #18

Original Poster
@paulh