Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-29-2012, 09:53 AM   #1

Flash

Hi guys, im new to all this photography stuff but i know i need a decent flash on the camera other than the built in one, can anyone recomend one to me please???? nothing to pricey

10-29-2012, 10:05 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Metz 50
10-29-2012, 11:07 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yes, that. Unless you're planning on using the flash off-camera a lot, in which case you might want to go with a Yongnuo flash, which is a manual-only flash.
10-29-2012, 10:03 PM   #4

is there any automatic flash?

10-30-2012, 04:43 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by ajaya Quote
is there any automatic flash?
Look here for a list of which Pentax flashes have what features.
10-30-2012, 05:30 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
If you don't mind going with a used flash, I really like the Sunpak 422D. It's both manual and automatic, and it has variable power, which is very handy.
10-30-2012, 09:16 AM   #7
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I've been pretty happy with my Sigma DG-Super Series. Get the highest guide number (power) you can afford.

Photo 4 Less - Professional Photography Equipment, SLR Cameras, Lenses, Flashes

Tim
10-30-2012, 11:04 AM   #8

Original Poster
thanks guys, looks like i have a lot of research to do

10-30-2012, 03:21 PM   #9
Veteran Member

Unless you have a K-30 I would strongly recommend the Metz 58 AF-2.

If you do intend to use it with K-30 it has currently some limitations (incompatibility). The most significant limitation is the High Speed Sync, which may or may not be important to you. It also seems to be a bit unreliable (when used with K-30) in the auto exposure, typically severely underexposing some shots.

I also use the same flash with the K-r and it has no such issues.