Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-22-2012, 06:28 PM   #1
Unregistered User

K-r owners: still happy?

My anti-consumerist philosophy is all about using your tools till they die an honourable death.
This might not be good for the companies who would like us to buy into the latest fad, but it
renders service to certain bygone ideals.

I am no professional and my demands when it comes to camera gear are moderate in nature.
I have been tempted to upgrade from K-r to K30 or K5, but I am content with the performance
of my K-r and therefore I shall withstand the temptation.

So, how many among you intend to continue shooting with the K-r for many more years to come?
And are there those here who have much older DSLR models still in service?

Dom

12-22-2012, 06:41 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
I had a K100D up until a month ago, that body is going on 7 years old, I only bought the K-5 because it was a good deal and wanted to get a new one before they were all gone.

Getting a new body won't necessarily improve your photos, most people never hit the limit of what their gear can do before upgrading. If the K-r does what you need, stick with it, it is a great body.
12-22-2012, 07:55 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
2 yr old Kr.... 17,000+ clicks and still going. The siren song of a new body hasn't won over me yet ( don't ask about the drawer full of glass though )
12-22-2012, 08:01 PM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member

I upgraded to a K30 but only because I shoot a lot of sports and TAV mode has come in really handy for that. Other than that, the Kr (still own it) can do everything I need to do 99 percent of the time I shoot.

12-22-2012, 08:25 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter