Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-02-2013, 03:39 AM   #1

Flashgun for animal photos - please help

I am going to be helping a charity out by taking photos of the dogs. Mixture of indoor and outdoor, never used a flashgun before but is this the best way to avoid aiming flash into the dogs eyes? I don't want to spend a huge amount, I am only a novice with my dslr (k-r)

Many thanks

01-02-2013, 03:47 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Indirect flash for indoor, I mean flash is directed to a white surface which in turn illuminate the dog, like ceiling, otherwise no flash...
01-02-2013, 05:25 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Whether you use a flash or not should be dictated by the level of available light. If enough light is available for photos to be taken at a reasonable iso (for your camera), then a flash won't be necessary. If a flash is necessary, then you will greatly benefit by using a modifier to redirect, diffuse or enlarge the light source. There are modifiers available for your on camera flash as well as external flashes.

ON Camera Pop-up Flash Modifiers:

One problem using the on camera flash is red-eye, the bouncing back of the light source from the blood vessels in the retina of the eye, giving them a glowing red color. Redirecting the flash will eliminate this. One example of this type of modifier is the Lightscoop Universal Standard Mirror Bounce for Pop-Up Flash, 29.95 from B&H. It redirects the light to bounce off the ceiling from the ceiling. If you can't use the ceiling, i.e., too far overhead, painted black, etc., red eye can usually be be minimized by using the cameras red eye setting, which prefaces the main flash with a series of pre-flashes, this causes the subjects irises to close down, or it is usually easily corrected in post production.