Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-05-2013, 06:03 AM   #1

[Q]New K-r user - lens and settings tips needed

Hi, I am new to the DSLR world and decided to start with the Pentax K-r ...wasn't easy at all to choose between Nikon D3200 and Pentax K-r, but i finally got the Pentax
I do take a lot of shots with my kids outside but also inside with a kit lens 18-55mm...I would like to get another lens, better one, but can't decide .... Tamron or Sigma ? How are the all around lenses built ?I would like a 28-135 f/2.8 - any recommendation ?

I also need some Infos regarding the correction settings in the menu: distortion and highlight - do you recommend to have them on or not ?

Thanks a lot for your time and ofc HAPPY NEW YEAR !

01-05-2013, 07:17 AM   #2

Congratulations on your choice of the Pentax. I had a K-x (the previous iteration of the K-r) and thought it was a great camera.

Regarding lenses, a good place to look is the databases on this site, with user reviews of both pentax and third party lenses:
Pentax Lenses by Sigma, Tamron, Zeiss, and more - Reviews and Specification Database - Pentax Lens Review Database
You can also see sample images with camera/lens combinations at:
Pentax Camera & Lens Sample Photo Search Engine - PentaxForums.com

The Sigma 17-70 is a good general purpose lens to replace the standard 18-55. But as a rule of thumb, you get what you pay for, and a good quality lens will last you for many years. Prime lenses generally give the best image quality, rather than a zoom, but then you sacrifice some flexibility. The Pentax range of 'Limited' lenses (DA 15, 21, 40 & 70 as well as the FA equivalents) are all pretty decent, and the 40mm lens may be a good one to start with - good enough for portrait style pictures and ok for small groups as well, and generally a decent price.