Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-26-2013, 01:51 PM   #1

K-r settings for high speed photos

Hi all. There's a superbike practice day at my local raceway next month and I'm going to try my hand at taking some pictures. I'm pretty new to photography with a DSLR. I know that my K-r has a SCN setting for fast moving objects but if I wanted to do things a bit more manually what settings would you recommend?

02-26-2013, 02:11 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you are not sure, just flip the camera to Sports scene mode. If you know the exposure settings you need to get the shots you want, use that semi-automatic or M mode and ensure all lens and aberration corrections in the menu have been switched off, as these increase photo processing time and slow down the camera's ability to continuously shoot. If you need a lot of continuous shooting, I'd suggest shooting in JPEG rather than RAW.
02-26-2013, 04:10 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Set focus to AF-C
Set exposure mode to TV probably 1/500 or faster.
Drive mode to Hi

You may also want to set shutter release priority instead of focus priority...

Sounds like fun
02-27-2013, 09:34 PM   #4
Pentaxian

You might also try panning, which is following the target with the camera. If you do it right, the target is sharp and foreground and background look like they are whizzing by, so you get a sense of speed. Panning works with a slower shutter speed, something like 1/30 or 1/60. The slow shutter speed helps a lot if you don't have a super-expensive lens, because you can shoot at something like f5.6 or f8, and still have a good exposure at lower ISOs.