Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-06-2013, 02:09 PM   #1

Best Tripod for Pentaxk-r

Dear all,
I got my k-r few weeks back. Started experimenting wiit. Now that I am in look out for a tripod. Ca you please suggest some good ones.
My requirement is :
Night photography.
Indoor use for portrait
Outdoor landscape
Occasionally long exposure photography.

Having said these I don't want want to invest too much on a tripod as I am an amateur and don't get much time for photography.

03-06-2013, 02:34 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Tripod are really personal, in height, in budget and other features. They are not camerabased.

There are many manufacturers and models out there. Typical beginnermodels can be found at Velbon (sherpa series), Redged and Vanguard for instance. You also want to consider what kind of head you want to go with it. Personnally I prefer ballheads but that`s just a matter of taste.

Last edited by TenZ.NL; 03-06-2013 at 02:39 PM.
03-06-2013, 02:36 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

The K-r is a pretty light camera so almost any tripod will work. Except for maybe unbranded no name ones.
Maybe try Giottos, thats a relatively popular brand thats not too expensive. You will need to put more thought into tripods if you are planning on using special lenses (huge lenses) or in special conditions (like on long trekking trips) or for specific usage (like panning scenes).
There are some differences between tripod heads, but for now just choose one that you find is easy to use. I stay away from ballheads, but some people like them. Guess it depends on how big the ball is. And how well it holds in place.