Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
06-06-2013, 04:40 PM   #1
Forum Member

Does white balance matter when shooting in RAW?

This is my first time to try shooting in RAW. I set my K-r to do RAW+.

When I compare the JPEG files with the RAW files, they look exactly the same, The RAW file size is much bigger and Faststone also tells me it is in RAW format.

I set the WB to Cloudy and they were sunset pictures.

Am I doing things right? When I shoot in RAW, do I need to set WB?

06-06-2013, 04:52 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by dmnf Quote

When I compare the JPEG files with the RAW files, they look exactly the same, The RAW file size is much bigger and Faststone also tells me it is in RAW format.

If you shoot RAW, you can leave it on AWB and forget about it... Even if you change it to something else, it is not disastrous because you can always fix it in post-processing. However, if you shoot JPEG and set the WB to something wrong it will be much harder to get the WB correct even in post-processing. It is common mistakes by beginners shooting in JPEG who usually changed the WB to "tungsten" during and indoor shooting before and then forgot to change WB the next day when they shoot outdoor during the day.

Last edited by aleonx3; 06-06-2013 at 05:19 PM.
06-06-2013, 05:17 PM   #3
Veteran Member

White balance is designed in such a way that a raw converter can change it without loss in quality. This is very useful because it lets you make an indoors room with tungsten lightning appear more natural, more liek we humans perceive it, rather than just how the camera records it. If you are shooting on a cloudy day, everything looks a little blue, so you can use white balance Cloudy, to make it appear more natural.