Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-26-2013, 01:27 PM   #1

Tachnical issues for newbie, is my Kr broken?

Hello,

an utter beginner here with what appears to be serious problems with my Kr looking for some sage advice please..

Ive had this for about a year and a half but shortly after buying became seriously ill, all my things were put in storage ( at family home so normal temps no damp etc) including camera ( with battery and memory card removed and safely stored) , since getting it back out ive had the following occur in the last week:
  • When switching on the whole camera jams up, inc the menu, I cannot switch off unless I take out the battery - this is happening almost every 5 pictures or so.. so its driving me mad
  • The shutter is jamming occasionally stopping half way through, again I have to take out battery to reset
  • Images have completely dissapeard despite older images still being on the card and trying to recover with software ( I lost the whole set I did last week)
My additional problem is that Jacobs who I bought from have gone under so my extended warranty I guess is void? I have no additional paperwork other than the reciept as I was told just to bring it in if any problems..

I popped into Jessops explained the tech issues I was having and they told me it was my fault for not using the camera regularly?! How can a camera go 'wrong' when its barely been used? They suspected it would need serious work and were quoting 25 to send off and 200 just to do a check over ( before parts)