Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-20-2013, 09:16 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
K-r Kit Lens. Good or bad?

Hello there. I'm new to this DSLR game but recently got a bargain, brand new K-r. Reviews of the camera, seem great, even though it's a couple of years old now. However, it comes with the standard DAL 18-55 and 50-200 and although I'm probably not doing the camera any justice as yet, due to inexperience, I'm also wondering about the quality of the lens. Maybe I should just get used to the camera, rather than get ahead of myself here...Any thoughts?

11-20-2013, 09:24 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The lens is about what you can expect from a 18-55mm kit. It takes fine photos, but just about any other lens that you pick up from Pentax will be better. The same applies to both lenses.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
11-20-2013, 09:31 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thanks Adam. I sort of guessed that. Still, all part of the fun and I'll go out there and snap..cheers
11-21-2013, 01:48 AM   #4

Photos: Albums
As someone in the same boat a few years back I suggest you just get out there and play to figure out what kind of pictures you like taking, what focal lengths you use most etc. This will help make sure you make the right decisions when buying new lenses in the future.

11-21-2013, 01:54 AM   #5
PJ1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter