Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-21-2016, 08:38 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Image disdurbance

Please I need advice if its the camera(K-r) because from the naked eye I cannot see it from the lens if its a dirt or something.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-r  Photo 
03-21-2016, 08:44 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Looks like a spec of dust and a small piece of filament of some sort on your sensor. Hopefully can be fixed by taking the lens off, locking up the mirror and blowing off the sensor using a rocket blower like this: Giottos Rocket Blaster Dust-Removal Tool (Large, Black) AA1900. I advise you to check your owner's manual on how to lock up the mirror for lens cleaning before you make the attempt.
Good luck.
Daryl
03-21-2016, 08:51 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thank you but it's not always present just depending on the distance of the zoom (forgive me if my terminology is wrong, I'm new to the camera world)
03-21-2016, 09:34 PM   #4
Pentaxian

That's relatively easy to clean, don't worry. It's hair and dust on the sensor. You'll notice it the most on bright, solid color backgrounds like the sky, especially as you "stop down" the aperture (f/22 will show the dust sharply focused while f/4 will blur it). Different zoom amounts can also affect the visibility (55mm might show it more than 18mm).

Make sure the auto-clean function is enabled on your K-r, so it shakes the sensor on startup to remove dust. The auto clean doesn't always work and then you can use a rocket blower as recommended above. Do not blow into the camera to try cleaning because spit in the camera becomes much tougher to clean.

P.S. Dirt on the front of the lens will usually be invisible. Don't overclean lenses.

03-21-2016, 10:52 PM   #5
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Centuriiion Quote