Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 26 Likes Search this Thread
09-04-2019, 06:47 AM - 10 Likes   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Fired up the old K-r, Again, and all fired up.

I'm an amateur that's been shooting since my teen days, starting with a M/S 1000DTL, and a garage darkroom.

The FREE Digital film is just so easy.

My first and only DSLR is a K-r.
Bought a new one years ago which now has a scratch on the LCD cover glass, then 4 "broken ones" from ebay with the thought of replacing the cover glass.
Prices ranged from $5 to $20, returns with problems.

One has no Audio, one no Flash, one has a stuck AF/AE button, and the other has the clack clack board issue.
Instead of opening them up to fix I just use the ones that work. The Clacker has most of the parts I would need.

Keep a long lens on one, a kit lens on another, etc.
Tried 6X7 lenses adapted to the K mount.with a 165mm being sharp as a tack, even mounted in reverse

Then I got into bridge cameras. The equivalent of a ton of lenses in one package.
Really convenient, but some loss in image quality.
FZ20, FZ28, FZ70, and my latest, a used FZ80.
Pretty neat camera, but I still love the K-r.

One interest is Free Range Macros.
Insects, birds, and Flowers (for the wife).
So, after searching Pentax lens reviews I bought a FA 100mm F/2.8 Macro from Japan.
Wow.

And a AF 2X TC which ain't worth the trouble with LONG lenses but seems to work with the 100mm
(giving me a 300mm equiv) another Wow

It's been a while since I posted any pics here, I'll try.
I can also try a link to a hosting site, if that's OK? Exif data in link.

The old K-r still lives.

Last edited by Rocketvapor; 09-04-2019 at 07:25 AM.
09-04-2019, 08:28 AM - 10 Likes   #2

Original Poster
Out and about the yard, looking for bugs
09-04-2019, 08:46 AM - 3 Likes   #3
Pentaxian