Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
6 Days Ago   #1

New Pentax Kr User Questions

I recently acquired a very lightly used Pentax Kr with two lens (18-55mm and 50-20mm).

I'd appreciate some suggestions from experienced Pentax users of the Pentax Kr. I've had a lot of experience using Nikon DSLR cameras beginning with the D50 and continuing with the D90 to my present D7000 and a nice almost new D2X. I'm still trying to dope out the various menu settings for my Pentax Kr and would be interested in hearing from other users as to their menu settings.

I'm also somewhat mystified by the "Green Button" on this camera. After looking over various forums it's obvious that this button has different functions, depending on the model of the Pentax camera in use. What do users of the Kr normally use for the assignment of this button? Is this button considered to be especially useful?

Thanks, in advance, for any comments or suggestions.

Jim

6 Days Ago   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The green button is pretty consistent across bodies. What it does is it resets the shutter speed and aperture to the values recommended by the camera. This comes in especially handy when using hyper program mode, or when shooting with manual lenses.

There are of course other functions of the button (in conjunction with other buttons) depending on context, but I believe that in older bodies like the K-r that extent is a bit more limited.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

6 Days Ago   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by pimadude Quote
...my present D7000...