Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
11-04-2019, 05:01 PM   #1

Two different issues with my 64 gb memory cards

Hi everyone, a couple of questions regarding 64gb memory cards. I am aware of an old forum about it but it does not resolve my two issues, explained below.

I have only lately started experiencing this problem, and ONLY WITH 64GB cards, so I would appreciate advice of more seasoned K-r users, or professionals.

I have been using my K-r since 2011 and am quite satisfied with it. I have without any issues used a 64gb Ultra card for a few years, but then I believe (in retrospect) that I made a mistake of formatting it inside my Mac. Now the Pentax will no longer read it, gives me "cannot read this card" error, and does NOT allow me to even format it inside it.

A much bigger problem is that recently I ordered a brand new 64gb card, and I am getting the same error when I try to use it.
I am questioning myself whether at any points I may have pressed the button "reset all values to default" in the K-r menu, and although not sure, could this be the source of this particular problem with this new card?
(I am sure that the protection is off on both cards).

My questions are:

1. Is there any way I can again use in my Pentax the 64gb card which I unwittingly formatted in the Mac - and how?
2. Will the installing firmware update to the K-r solve the issue with the new card, if I may have caused this problem by reverting the firmware to the default values - but how then am I still able to use my 32gb card without issues?

As I say, there is no particular logic in my camera's behavior with these two cards.

Thank you

11-04-2019, 05:24 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Which firmware version are you using? The latest is 1.15.

Version 1.01 first introduced compatibility with SDXC cards. Version 1.12 introduced "Improved reliability of recording operation when using SDXC memory card".
11-04-2019, 05:44 PM   #3