Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
09-12-2010, 05:35 PM   #16
Site Supporter

77 auto-focus gets the shots.
77 pixie dust makes the shots look amazing.

I'm not even a good photographer, but I get results with this lens every time.

09-12-2010, 05:44 PM   #17
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I haven't used the DA 70, or FA 77, so I won't try and compare....but I do own a SMC Tak 85, which is my favorite lens.

One thing I will warn, is the 85 is very unforgiving for MF. Wide open, the DOF is very thin. I will admit I have limited experience with MF, practice will hopefully improve that....or maybe investment in a split screen for my k-7. When you nail it though...it's a magical lens. See more use than my FA 43 in the last few months.
09-12-2010, 07:12 PM   #18
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The FA77 LTD, is the most impressive lens i have purchased, and although i doubt the price increase compared to say the DA70.

The quality, the feel, look and results are all magical.....

The AF even at 1.8 on my K-7 is so unbelievably good, My Pentax Macro 100mm 2.8 WR in comparison makes you work for it all the time, the FA77 just hits the focus in 0.1 second and nails it.

It's the perfect portrait lens, unfortunately i don't do portraits, Still it will never be sold, I have only owned a DSLR for 2months and the FA77 for 2weeks.....

I'm not sure the price is justified with the FA, but the results and enjoyment are worth every penny.
09-12-2010, 07:34 PM   #19
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by Pentaxor Quote
it's more of a focal length preference actually and how they render at such focal length.

cite image comparisons >>> Pentax 77mm und 85mm-Objektive: Test-Portrait
The difference between 85mm and 77mm is minimal. If it bothers you that much take 1/2 a step forward with the 77 and voila!

As for rendering...they are all excellent - so whatever floats your boat is the one to go with.

c[_]