Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
downy woodpecker
Posted By: cutterpup, 07-27-2007, 06:56 AM

Hi all. This one was done with the Tamron 70-300 without the TC. now this leads to a question. Since despite my closeness to my subject i still needed to do some cropping. If and when I have the cash would I be better off getting a camera higher than 6mg so I have the crop room or spending it on a longer lens. due to my physical issues most of my bird photos will be taken on my deck which has always had feeders and is now getting more natural perches and landing spots so I can try and mimic more natural settings.
Judy

Views: 2,965
07-27-2007, 07:31 AM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Wow, very nice pic
07-27-2007, 09:45 AM   #3
Veteran Member

That's a beautiful crisp photo Judy with nice dof. I'm no expert on the pros and cons of more MPs v lenses. Like you I also have a 70-300 lens, Sigma in my case, and with bird photos (at least the more impromptu ones) I often feel I need that extra reach. I have a 2x Kenko teleconverter but haven't experiemnted with it much; the loss of aperture is certainly a nuisance. I've been wondering about getting a more powerful lens. As long as you don't plan printing greatly enlarged photos I'd have thought you'd be just as well going for another lens.

Paul
07-27-2007, 03:09 PM   #4
Veteran Member

My suggestions...

If you take a look here (scroll down to the two Tamron 100-300):

Lens Performance Survey - INTERPRETED OUTPUT

you'll see that the Tamron 100-300 lenses are rated as poor (macro version) or sub-average.

My personal opinion is that top quality photos require quality lenses. I fairly consistently get shots of this quality with my K100 - a lowly 6 mp camera: