Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Current B&W Project
Posted By: jmax, 07-29-2007, 12:02 PM

I’m primarily a B&W photographer and I'm currently working on a project that involves photographing grain elevators in the northwestern Texas area. This is my first attempt at using my new K10D instead of medium and large format film for something like this. I haven’t decided yet, but these images may be part of an exhibit that will go up in September.

I’ve always loved seeing these structures when traveling across the Texas Panhandle and Plains. You can see them miles away and there is almost a surreal element because of their immense size relative to their surroundings. This surreal element is part of what I’m trying to capture in my images.

To get the images I want usually requires getting fairly close to the subject and using a wide angle. Of course, this is going to result in considerable lean and tilt of the structures. If I were concerned with capturing reality I would have used my Sinar 4x5 (and shot color), but I’m now wondering if the distortions may be too distracting--especially in the horizontal images. They don’t bother me and, up to now, I haven’t worried about them but . . .?

Duke, my Weimaraner, has been unimpressed so far and thinks we should get back to the regular outdoor stuff.

Here are some example shots from the project.

Post, Texas f/6.7 @ 1/250 35mm

http://www.fineart-photography.com/post.jpg

Happy, Texas f/8 @ 1/750 24mm

http://www.fineart-photography.com/happy.jpg

Wilson, Texas f/6.7 @ 1/200 28mm

http://www.fineart-photography.com/wilson4.jpg

Petersburg, Texas f/8 @ 1/700 24mm

http://www.fineart-photography.com/petersburg.jpg
Views: 2,237
07-29-2007, 12:26 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery