Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Pair of hummers
Lens: Tamron 75-250mm Camera: K200d Photo Location: Backyard ISO: 400 Shutter Speed: 1/125s Aperture: F5.6 
Posted By: Jools, 07-22-2010, 11:37 PM

These are a pair of hummers I took late this afternoon. Not the best light given the storms that were upon us. No cropping but some minor PP.

My goal was to test the Cactus V2S wireless outfit and a Sunpak 266 flash, off camera about 10 feet and with a homemade diffuser, under these conditions.

Just wondering what others suggest. I'm a newbie to hummingbirds/flash and they are obviously fast. Still looking for the illusive frozen in action hummingbird picture. Don't know if I have the equipment to reach my goal.

Views: 2,178
07-23-2010, 10:08 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Two lovely shots !

They do seem a little noisy for 400 ISO so I guess these have been heavily cropped ?

I'd try and get that speed up above 1/125 to more like 1/320 to maintain some wing blur but enhance sharpness in the rest of the bird. 1/1000 or more to stop it. And maybe F8.0 if possible for extra DoF.
07-23-2010, 12:49 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Jools---Considering that you were using 1/125 sec the pics are really good.As to using special equipment all that I used for my shot was my Vivitar $90 flash and my K20d with a $149 Quantaray 70-300mm lens from about 8ft away.The flash has varied power modes and I used the yellow setting which gives not much light but the duration of flash is 1/30,000 sec according to specs.Humming birds are very friendly and if you're patient you can get shots from just several feet away.--charliezap
07-23-2010, 01:59 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

i never tire of seeing these beauties... thanks for sharing... dave m

07-23-2010, 04:32 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery