Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Dutch Reformed Church, Graaff-Reinet
Lens: DAL 18-55mm Camera: K-x Photo Location: Graaff-Reinet, South Africa ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/500s Aperture: F8 
Posted By: altopiet, 01-20-2011, 07:31 AM

This is my first try at Architecture, and PP specifically for vertical line correction. Any comment and or tips are welcome

Before

After

After #2

Last edited by altopiet; 01-20-2011 at 09:09 AM. Reason: Add photo
Views: 5,013
01-20-2011, 07:47 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

beautiful shot, but I'd prefer the original, it looks more natural to me.
01-20-2011, 08:06 AM - 1 Like   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Beautiful Church. Where is it. Would prefer a bit more space on each side. Second of course (?) is best. How could anyone say the first looks natural when it is distorted by the lens?
01-20-2011, 08:09 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks Igor. I must agree that I would also rather go for the original. I just don't have an idea what the norm is with this type of photography. I've just seen that it can be done, and tried it.

01-20-2011, 08:21 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Sparkle Quote
Beautiful Church. Where is it. Would prefer a bit more space on each side. Second of course (?) is best. How could anyone say the first looks natural when it is distorted by the lens?
Hi Sparkle. It is in my home town, Graaff-Reinet, South Africa, and one of the main tourist attractions. It was constructed between 1886 and 1887. I cropped it like that because of new buildings surrounding it. I go past this church a few times every day and despite the vertical lines not being straight in the first photo, the second one just does not seem the same as I see it every day. But looking from your perspective, not having seen it before, I can understand why you say the second looks better
01-20-2011, 08:21 AM - 1 Like   #6