Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Palo Alto Concours D'elegance - The Brits [10 IMG]
Lens: DA 15 and 40 Camera: K-5 Photo Location: Stanford Campus, Palo Alto, CA ISO: 80 
Posted By: Sailor, 07-08-2011, 05:17 PM

I love British sports cars from the '50s and '60s. We owned a '58 Morris Minor convertible (bought new) - hardly a sports car, but it initiated my interest in other BMC products, like the MGA. Later, my cousin's family bought an Austin Healey 3000 just after I got my driver's license in '63 - I still remember the "snick" of the shifter and the smell of the leather. Later, when I was a grad student, I wanted an MGB so badly I could taste it, but reality intervened and I ended up buying something more usable. Here are some shots of some of the wonderful British cars - full of personality and character - that punctuated my burgeoning fascination with the automobile.

Jer

Jag XK-120 Roadster and XK-140 coupe:

MG TF:

Late '50s MGA:

The Big Healey:

Last edited by Sailor; 07-08-2011 at 05:23 PM.
Views: 1,846
07-08-2011, 06:22 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Those are great. I got to ride in a 120 or something very similar driven by my friend's mom as a kid. I fell in love with the Jag. My friend's mom also had a 64 Lincoln Continental Hardtop Convertible with a plague on the dash "Made for ........". As well as a small black and white tv!. Boy I was impressed her tastes. What do I drive? A SUV. ha. anyway thanks for memory lane!
07-08-2011, 08:16 PM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nice shots. Well done. I like the spark of sunshine on most photographs. Very professional.

Thank you for sharing.
07-08-2011, 09:17 PM   #4
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan