Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Mosaic: Autumn scene
Posted By: SCGushue, 11-23-2007, 11:01 PM

When I first started using a DSLR about a year and a half ago I thought that panormaic or mosaic photography might be something to have fun with and that is the reason I finally started getting back into doing some personal photography after 20 years of basicaly hanging up the fun part of photography... though I still can't give up the professional side as that still pays the bills. Being a scientific photographer I am pretty comfortable with the technical applications of films and print processing, but panoramic work on film and paper is almost not worth the effort... and in many cases not very practicle... period.

I have been compiling a lot of technical data on panohead and stitching over the past 9 months and it is still challenging to get every type of situation (lighting, subject matter and the time necessary to catch rapidly changing lighting conditions) covered. Anyone on the forum who is considering the NN3 can contact me for the numbers of several lenses and their entance pupil calibrations. I am still compiling the data and more focal length information will be forthcoming over the next few months.

This image is a pano/mosaic along Glen Leigh in Pennsylvania. It was taken with a NN3, K10, and a 31 LTD on a Manfrotto tripod and is composed of 15 seperate images.

Unfortunately, the benefits of shooting in pano format are largely rendered moot on the computer screen, but images like this can be blown up to tremndous size (this image is 90MB or so) and very detailed large prints at 300 DPI can be produced. In most cases you can see the veining of the leaves. Next Spring... learn... digital printing... yum That should take forever to perfect

Stephen

Attached Images

Last edited by SCGushue; 11-24-2007 at 07:24 AM.
Views: 1,932
11-23-2007, 11:07 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery