Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Diptera Syrphidae
Lens: DA55-300 + reversed EL Nikkor Camera: K5 Photo Location: My attic ISO: 80 Shutter Speed: 1/10s Aperture: F5.6 
Posted By: Clavius, 08-01-2011, 09:18 AM

This is a 114 image stack in Zerene of a tiny 'hoverfly'. Just to test out my new EL Nikkor 50mm.

I really need to figure out how to get rid of those halos / auras.

Anybody any idea? Sorry, I'm still a newbie at this.

Views: 1,946
08-01-2011, 11:05 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
great capture !! that's up close and personal... the detail in those compound eyes is amazing.. dave m
08-01-2011, 11:11 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by dcmsox2004 Quote
great capture !! that's up close and personal... the detail in those compound eyes is amazing.. dave m
Thank you very much!

But it still isn't good enough.

Look at this guy:

This is obviously not my image. This capture is done by a guy named John Hallmen. I'm trying to reach this kind of quality, but I've got a long frustrating way to go.
08-01-2011, 01:12 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I don't think your journey's that long!!
Nice shot!!

08-01-2011, 01:29 PM   #5
Veteran Member

hey someone else has an el-nikkor 50mm! Which version do you have? What are you using for your steps? What aperture?

edit: Oh and John's the best there is, dont get to discouraged.
08-01-2011, 11:47 PM   #6
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by yeatzee Quote
hey someone else has an el-nikkor 50mm! Which version do you have? What are you using for your steps? What aperture?
I've got the f4 version, with the strange 34,5mm filter thread. I saw it on ebay, selling peanuts, and before I realised it, it was on it's way. I should have taken a closer look. Well, it's way better then the reversed Ricoh Rikenon 50 f1.4 that I was using before.