Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Llanthony Priory
Lens: Tamron 10-24 Camera: K-m Photo Location: Llanthony Priory ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/90s Aperture: F9.5 
Posted By: mde1970, 10-01-2011, 12:07 PM

Testing out a new wide angle lens on a hiking trip to 'The Brecon Becons' (in Wales). We came across a 12th century ruined Priory and took a few shots.

Quite pleased with the perspective the lens gives. A little bit of sun glare though. Not sure if it can be remedied by PP or if I should have done something to avoid this (but any advice gratefully received as I'm a relative newbie to photography)!

Attached Images

Views: 1,025
10-01-2011, 05:02 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Did you have the hood on the lens? Do you have a filter on the lens? Using the lens hood, and not using a filter unless needed for the shot (e.g., a polarizing filter), or at least using a high-quality filter, are the best safeguards against lens flare.

Bluer skies than I would have expected for the mountains of Wales! Looks like a fantastic place; nice capture and thanks for sharing.

When faced with bright skies and a mostly shadowed subject, taking bracketed exposures gives you some nice options for combining them in PP. A tripod helps but is not mandatory.
10-01-2011, 05:24 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Nice shot even with the flare - gives it a little local color :-)

(I thought "llanthony priory" was going to be some type of flower).
10-01-2011, 11:27 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Cheers for replies. I used a Hoya uv filter but no hood. I had the tripod with me the first day along with 20kg of camping kit. Had to leave it all behind on the second day as it slowed us down too much. I'll try bracketed shots next time though (assuming I have tripod) and see if this helps.

10-01-2011, 11:35 PM   #5
Veteran Member