Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
image comparison using 'neat image' noise reduction programme.
Posted By: distorted_vision, 12-25-2007, 03:58 PM

hey guys. i found this noise reduction software that Peter Zack(thanks mate) mentioned in a previous thread and im pretty impressed by it.. heres an example of what results you can get.. does anyone else use this software and if so... how do you find it and do you use it a lot? as i am fairly new to digital and i am not very confident at photoshop(my speciality is auto-cad), i found this software extremely easy to use and the results are evident...
here the link to those who are interested, Neat Image - best noise reduction for digital cameras and scanners

ORIGINAL..

EDITED WITH NEAT IMAGE..

and another example..

ORIGINAL...

EDITED WITH NEAT IMAGE...

Last edited by distorted_vision; 12-25-2007 at 04:15 PM.
Views: 8,075
12-25-2007, 04:19 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Much the same as Neat Image, I have Noise Ninja, as a plug-in for PhotoShop Elements 5. I've used it for more than a year and it does as advertised. There are compromises: noise reduction can lead to some loss of detail and softening of the image e.g. the texture of the feathers in your gull shot, Kev.

Quite likely I should spend some more time tweaking its settings; or maybe there are simply some photos that it is best not suited to. But these applications sure do get rid of noise!
12-25-2007, 04:36 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by G M Fude Quote
Much the same as Neat Image, I have Noise Ninja, as a plug-in for PhotoShop Elements 5. I've used it for more than a year and it does as advertised. There are compromises: noise reduction can lead to some loss of detail and softening of the image e.g. the texture of the feathers in your gull shot, Kev.