Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Just Playing around with new lighting techniques
Posted By: Photo Tramp, 12-26-2006, 08:58 AM

Let me know what you think. the first is the original unprocessed with dust on the sensor.

The second has been processed in layers to bring out my final lighting shot.

Let me know what you think.

Good shooting.
Cheers: David
Views: 1,615
12-26-2006, 09:03 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Very interesting David, is that a Photoshop thing or can I use normal software to do the same sort of thing?

I do like both pic's but of course like the second one better.
12-26-2006, 09:12 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
It is a photoshop thing for sure Stu, I use Photoshop CS2 and some learned techniques from Barry Huggins book on creative Photoshop Lighting for photoshopCS2. I thank you for the comments and like I said this is my very first try so there is great room for improvement.

Good Shooting.
12-26-2006, 09:15 AM   #4
Veteran Member

My .02 after a minute or two of looking, maybe if the statue was more centered on the circle , or should I say the other way around. I think it has some potentional it is different. Turned something blah into somthing ahh.

12-26-2006, 09:45 AM   #5
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks for the .02 Pat. Took your suggestions and gave it another try. So now what do you think.

Good Shooting.
12-26-2006, 10:31 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Much better, but another .02 the flare you made or the smaller circles that look kind of like flare maybe a bit much. Maybe just take out the two that are at the 11 o'clock postion and the one at the 2 o'clock. Maybe add those to the one over the sword. Not sure who I think I am today telling you to do with your picture. But I mean it in the nicest possible way.
12-26-2006, 12:59 PM   #7
Veteran Member

That is amazing. I experimented that as well and never turned out that well. It looks magical.

Great work!